Friday, December 7, 2007

Insya'Allah chocolate is not for me anymore...Forgive me ya Allah...

gulf fence wrote:


SHARING IS CARING ..JUST BEWARE

Dear All,

All the below Masterfood Company Chocolate Products (Mars) are no longer Halal. They started using Animal product rennet(pork) in it for products that have expiry date after 1 st of October 2007.

Check this article from BBC News
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm
And this from the Vegetarian Society
http://www.vegsoc.org/new ! s/2007/mars.html

�� Bounty
�� Celebrations
�� Dove Chocolate
�� ! ; Flyte
�� Galaxy
�� Kudos (North America)
�� Lockets
�� M-Azing (North America)
�� Maltesers
�� M&M's
�� Mars Bar
�� Mars Delight
�� Milky Way
�� &nb! sp; Minstrels (UK only)
�� Mars Planets (newly inroduced in UK)
�� Skittles
�� Snickers (The top-selling candy bar in the United States. Known in the UK as Marathon until 1990.)
�� Starburst (Ori! ginally Opal Fruits in the UK.)
�� 3 Musketeers (North America)
�� Topic
�� Twix
�� Snicker's Marathon Energy Bar
�� AquaDrops

Please f orward this message to your friends.

Thanks

"Ya Allah aku tak layak kesyurgamu ...namun tak pula aku sanggup
keNerakamu....kami lah hamba yang mengharap belas dariMu ..."ya Allah
jadikan lah kami hamba2 Mu yang bertaqwa..ampunkan dosa2 kami, kedua ibubapa kami, dosa semua umat2 islam yang masih hidup mahupun yang telah meninggal dunia amiin"

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/6653175.stm

Mars starts using animal products

Masterfoods' brands are household names

Some of the UK's best-selling chocolate bars, such as Mars and Twix, will no longer be suitable for vegetarians.
Also affecting brands such as Snickers and Maltesers, owner Masterfoods said it had started to use animal product rennet to make its chocolate products.
Masterfoods said the change was due to it switching the sourcing of its ingredients and the admission was a "principled decision" on its part.
The Vegetarian Society said the company's move was "incomprehensible".
'Extremely disappointed'
Masterfoods said it had started using rennet from 1 May and non-affected products had a "best before date" up to 1 October.


Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step

Vegetarian Society







Rennet, a chemical sourced from calves' stomachs, is used in the production of whey.
It will now also be found in Bounty, Minstrels and Milky Way products, and the ice cream versions of all Masterfoods' bars.

"If the customer is an extremely strict vegetarian, then we are sorry the products are no longer suitable, but a less strict vegetarian should enjoy our chocolate," said Paul Goalby, corporate affairs manager for Masterfoods.

The Vegetarian Society said it was "extremely disappointed".

"At a time when more and more consumers are concerned about the provenance of their food, Masterfoods' decision to use non-vegetarian whey is a backward step," it said in a statement.
"Mars products are very popular with young people and many will be shocked to discover that their manufacture now relies on the extraction of rennet from the stomach lining of young calves," it added.


To leave comments, please refer to latest posting at talkonly or http://talkonly.blogspot.com, thank you.

No comments: